Here is a unique opportunity to own a piece of Orange County’s history! Known fondly as the ‘the Captain’s Quarter’s’ by William Bull III who was a captain under the command of General George Washington. The original log home built in 1724 sat on the foundation, but was removed in 1904 by a team of oxen pulling it over huge logs! Elizabeth “Lizzy” Bull had the existing two-story house built atop the original foundation. The exterior walls are 2 1/2 feet thick and were professionally repointed and are comprised of fieldstone and Franklinite. This 3-bedroom home offers all of its original details including hand-hewn beams, Cypress woodwork, plaster and lathe walls, slate roof, original chandeliers, hardwood flooring throughout and even a ‘sewing room’ once used for storing traveling trunks. This unique stone home is situated on 8 private and wooded acres with views from the wrap-around porch of the fields and Wallkill River. It’s located on a quiet country road, yet minutes to all shopping, roadways, medical facilities, Stewart International Airport, Mohonk Mountain House, West Point, hiking and biking trails, restaurants and so much more! Valley Central schools! Own a piece of history!

Date Added: 3/31/22 at 4:00 am
Last Update: 5/24/22 at 8:13 pm

Interior

  • BasementUnfinished, Walk- Out Access
  • FlooringHardwood
  • A/CNone
  • HeatingOil, Baseboard, Hot Water
  • FireplaceWood Burning Stove
  • GeneralMaster Downstairs, 1st Floor Bedrm, Eat-in Kitchen, Master Bath
  • AppliancesDishwasher, Dryer, Oven, Refrigerator

Exterior

  • GeneralPost and Beam, Stone
  • Style2 Story, Colonial
  • ParkingDetached, 2 Car Detached, Driveway

Utilities

  • WaterWell
  • SewerSeptic Tank

Construction

  • WindowsSkylight(s), ENERGY STAR Qualified Windows

Schools

  • DistrictValley Central School District (Montgomery)

Map